, , , , ,

The conference is being organised by Dr Andrew M. Butler (Canterbury Christ Church University) and Dr Paul March-Russell (University of Kent). Please send emails to both AndrewMButler42@gmail.com and P.A.March-Russell@kent.ac.uk where possible.

Paul March-Russell teaches Comparative Literature and Liberal Arts at the University of Kent, Canterbury.  He is the editor of Foundation: The International Review of Science Fiction, general editor of the critical studies series SF Storyworlds (Gylphi Press), and a current judge with the Arthur C. Clarke Award.  His most recent book was Modernism and Science Fiction (Palgrave 2015), and he also has forthcoming chapters on sf in The Cambridge History of the English Short Story, The Cambridge History of Science Fiction, and Popular Modernism and Its Legacies (Bloomsbury Academic).

Andrew M. Butler is the non-voting Chair of Judges for the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the author of Solar Flares: A History of Science Fiction in the 1970s (2011), Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2014), “Human Subjects/Alien Objects? Abjection and the Constructions of Race and Racism in District 9” in Alien Imaginations (2015), “Sleeping/Waking: Politicizing the Sublime in Science Fiction Film Special Effects” in Endangering Science Fiction Film (2016). He has also written books on Philip K. Dick, Cyberpunk, Terry Pratchett, Postmodernism and Film Studies. He was the coeditor of The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction (2009) and Fifty Key Figures in Science Fiction (2010).